WOR 2018 HOF

Posted On: 05/11/2018

2018 World Outdoor Racquetball Hall of Fame (WORHOF) Class Announced:

The World Outdoor Racquetball Hall of Fame (WORHOF) Committee is honored to make a very special announcement.
The committee has inducted three legendary candidates into the Outdoor Hall of Fame: Vic Lebofsky, Greg Solis and Hank Marcus.
1) Vic Leibofsky-Famed Tournament Director and Contributor:
Vic Leibofsky is a legendary outdoor racquetball contributor who is the only person in our sport's history to have directed all three major national outdoor championships. He helped to establish the famed Nationals at the "Beach Bash" as a must play destination. These national and bi-coastal events range from Huntington Beach, California to Las Vegas, Nevada to Hollywood, Florida. Vic has been instrumental in not only running them, but also in helping to make them into destination type events. For his continuing efforts and leadership to the outdoor game of racquetball, Vic.was earlier named the sport's inaugural recipient of the Greg Sheffield Award, the highest service honor in outdoor racquetball. Vic usually does not like to admit it, but he has also won several national age or skill level titles putting some "hardware" next to his R2 Sports tournament "software." According to WOR Founder Hank Marcus, "Contributor is not the correct word to describe Vic's involvement with outdoor and WOR....Vic's impact on outdoor has benefited a generation of players and will be felt for years to come."  
2) Greg Solis-Legendary Player and a Famed

Iron-Man Tournament Director:

Mr. Solis is one of outdoor racquetball’s hardest hitting and most feared pro players. In fact, Greg is the second player ever in outdoor history to ever win pro doubles with three partners (Brian Hawkes achieved this feat in his career five times). Greg’s dominated outdoors with an astounding 33 semi-finals placements including 10 of which were national championship titles. Greg Solis is clearly one of the most decorated pro doubles player (and outdoor players) ever in racquetball history. 

Greg is also the only player in history to win Pro Doubles for men to win three consecutive years from 2004-2006. Along the way, Greg Solis secured six pro men’s doubles outdoor national titles (1998, 1999, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and in 2012) and he was a finalist three other times. The committee wrote about him, “Greg Solis is a rare combination of an exceptional pro athlete whose playing credentials alone would have secured him a spot into the hall, yet when you combine that drive (and drive serve) with his years of directing many major national tournaments plus his contributions and commitment to grow the sport of racquetball, Greg Solis is clearly in a league of his own.  Few great athletes have ever excelled like Greg has while simultaneously directing the WOR National Championships several times and the WOR Warm ups from 1998 to 2018.”Greg Lewerenz, WOR National Director also famously quipped about Greg's vote to the Hall of Fame, “Greg is a no doubter.”  No doubt we agree!

3) Hank Marcus - The Man Who Went to WOR:

Marcus is a legendary outdoor racquetball contributor who founded World Outdoor Racquetball (WOR), our sport’s governing body with the support of Scott Winters and Ektelon. WOR has grown since its inception in California to include 17 states which have outdoor courts.  Internationally, WOR now features events and junior programs in countries including Mexico, Venezuela, England and Spain. Marcus worked with the organizers to establish three major national competitions in the USA to highlight the outdoor season.

During his tenure, Marcus also “lead the charge” founding Military Racquetball Foundation (MRF) with now retired Naval Officer Steven Harper. Marcus still proudly serves on the board today having earned his “stars and stripes”.  With the MRF helping military players around the world through the development of Racquetball Rehabilitation Clinics, the organization continues to assist veterans and injured service members. Over the years, Marcus also helped create the World Firefighter Racquetball Association, National Police Racquetball Association and, in another collaboration with Coulter, the Classic Pro Racquetball Tour (CPRT).

WOR will also be nominating Marcus for a coveted spot into the USAR Hall of Fame as an “contributor" whose final masterpiece included working with close friend Jason Thoerner the head of USA Racquetball to merge with WOR in 2017. Immediately after, Hank Marcus retired at the very top of his game.” In years past, WOR has successfully nominated outdoor racquetball’s greatest player Brian Hawkes and Ektelon founder and famed inventor Franklin “Bud” Held to the sport’s most prestigious nomination; a place in the walls of the USAR Hall of Fame. Marcus’ contributions are so unique that WOR is making this special nomination.
Future WORHOF Nominations and an Updated "Criteria":
The induction of Vic Leibofsky, Greg Solis and Hank Marcus is part of a WOR campaign over the next three to five years to help celebrate the founders, the long-time directors of the three national outdoor championships and going forward to induct the early stars from the 1960’s-1980’s.Public nominations take precedent over the committee’s own nominations and we look forward to receiving any submissions to Brett@trafficeducation.net. Nominations are accepted at any time for the class of 2019, typically in the order received. Please be sure to include the dates, titles (or top 4 major finishes), the name of tournaments and or any other important documents and contributions to our sport using the enclosed resume as an example. We look forward to your submissions and simply locate the tab under the “Hall of Fame Criteria” on the WOR home page.

The WORHOF committee is composed of WOR founder Hank Marcus and its National Director  Greg Lewerenz, WORHOF chairman/co-founder Brett Elkins and all past inductees who vote including these legends: Brian Hawkes, Martha and Greg McDonald, Bob Wetzel and Barry Wallace, Charlie Brumfield, Dr Bud., Robert "Iceman" Sostre, Freddy Ramirez, Marty Hogan, Craig "Clubber" Lane, Franklin "Bud" Held, Lynn Adams Clay and Dan Southern. And now the three inductees listed.
Please take a moment to review and celebrate each candidate and their impressive resumes below. You can also find our revised criteria that our WORHOF committee established for 2019 and future candidates. Thanks to your public support we can make this happen. The Hall of Fame Ceremony honoring Vic, Greg and Hank takes place July 14, 2018 in the afternoon at the famed Marina Park "outdoor style" where play stops and we honor the candidates in their shorts in a great ceremony that fans love. And as always autographs of the hall of famers are free (and plentiful)  if you ask. 
Here are their resumes and biographies:  http://worldoutdoorracquetball.net/worhof/inductees/

​Click the above link to also view HOF entries from: 2017: Scott Hirsch - Dan Southern -  Lynn "Adams" Clay as well as previous years!